Project Roles and Permissions
We aim to keep "who sees what" simple and transparent in Milestone Planner. The basic principles are clarity of responsibility and ownership, and being open and transparent by default.
How roles work
Roles are controlled at a plan level, and are displayed on the people bar at the top of each project page, which lists the team members for the project. Each team member (or resource) can have one of four roles.
Owner
Full access to everything in the plan, including the ability to delete the plan.
Full
Can view and update everything within the plan, including adding team members.
View
Can see everything in the plan, and update their own actions, milestones and workstreams/goals.
None
They cannot view the plan, but they can see items assigned to them in their personal dashboard.
Ownership and accountability
We only allow one owner for each plan, to keep ownership and accountability clear. People supporting the owner should normally have full access, which we recommend for every member of the team, as that allows everyone to take part in keeping the plan accurate. Remember there is a full history of all changes, and an 'undo' capability in the Professional Edition.
How permissions cascade
Permissions cascade down through each plan. For example, if someone has view access to the plan, but is assigned as the owner of a workstream or milestone, then they have full access to everything within that workstream or milestone, so that they can effectively manage it.